Seth Rich

It’s a bit dizzying trying to keep pace with the relentless headlines decrying the latest bizarre controversy that Trump has stumbled into.  (The current best offer is the Seth Rich affair.)  It’s not that this stuff isn’t important.  It’s just that Trump seems to be a black hole of impropriety.  Nothing he gets caught doing sinks him.  Granted, he isn’t getting anything done.  Granted it’s all very amusing.  But, every ‘ah-ha’ moment seems to get brushed off as more ‘Trump being Trump,’ no matter how far he lowers the bar.

I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m simply writing this blog for my future self.  At some point, I’ll have a hazy memory of these things happening and I’ll wonder, “Did that really happen?”  And, then, I’ll look back through this mess and find the link and say, Yup!

So, headlines will come and go.  What I find more compelling are original sources as they become available.  For example, Politico just released a transcript of a Wall Street Journal interview that Trump did on the day of his failed health care repeal vote.  This was also a few days before he hired John Kelly and fired Anthony Scaramucci.  I hope the world will do it’s best to record every utterance of Donald Trump for the rest of his life.  Trying to figure out what he’s saying is just so much fun.  I don’t know if this was the best passage from the interview, but it seemed pretty good to me:

TRUMP: And today we’re having a big vote, and we’ll see what happens. But today’s vote is big, because once you get in – once you’re allowed to talk a lot of –

BAKER: But we can’t expect any more staff changes in the immediate – in the immediate future?

TRUMP: No, I don’t think so.

BAKER: No?

TRUMP: But I’m very happy with Anthony. I think Anthony is going to do amazing.

Leave a Reply

