Party pooper

I have to admit, I’ve been looking forward to seeing Trump attend the white house correspondents’ dinner.  Maybe I’ve been secretly hoping to see another Colbert/Bush-type smack down (by John Oliver maybe?)  So, I was a bit disappointed, but none too surprised, to hear that Trump will not be going.  What I was surprised by were two things, 1) the nasty comments following the announcement on Fox News (which seemed quite similar to the nasty comments after the announcement on the Washington Post), and 2) how classy Trump’s own twitter announcement was.  I’ll quote it here for you:

“I will not be attending the White House Correspondents’ Association Dinner this year. Please wish everyone well and have a great evening!”

That was classy!  I would write that.  Normal people would write that.  It wasn’t offensive.  It didn’t insult anyone.  It just said, ‘No thanks–you folks go have a good time.’  Boom.  Done.  Classy.  I would vote for someone who could consistently communicate like that.

But, since I’m a whiny liberal who has to complain about something, I’ll share what I’ve been wondering for a while, namely, Is Trump a genius or a nincompoop (or both)?  More specifically, does one now have to resort to childish name calling to be elected president of  America in order to fix a broken system?  Does one have to make enemies of both parties, the media, the intelligence apparatus, and half the country in order to fix the whole country?  Does one have to spout lies and nonsense in order to fight half-truths and disinformation?  Does one have to be a jackass in order to set things right?  Or, is someone who acts like a jackass, actually just a jackass?  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

