It starts with a dream

I remember reading Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “Letter from Birmingham Jail” long ago and thinking, I want to write like that someday.  I’ve been reading it to my kids at bedtime.  I won’t say it’s their favorite story.  I’m not even as impressed with the writing as I remember being long ago.  Still, I think it’s a seminal document in the history of the United States and rewards the reading.  Why don’t you take a few minutes and read it now?

I don’t like to get too sappy about this stuff.  There’s plenty of debate to be had about the American civil rights movement and the content of character of it’s leaders.  What I like to remember today, is that there was a guy who stood up for what he felt was right using the skills that he had.  He made sacrifices for what he believed in, and what he believed in seemed to be the product of selfless and thoughtful reflection.  I think what impresses me most about MLK, is that he didn’t confine his interests to advancing the cause of his race, but rather he actually fought to end poverty in general in America.  Perhaps someday someone will try that again–and live a little longer.

Meanwhile, did Donald Trump just announce America is getting universal health care?  Is he really going after Big Pharma’s price gouging?  What’s next–taking on the insurance companies?  One can always dream.

Leave a Reply

